Today, 34 global technology and security companies announced that they have signed a Cybersecurity Tech Accord, which publicly commits them “to protect and empower civilians online and to improve the security, stability and resilience of cyberspace.”  The signatories include Cisco, Dell, Facebook, HP, Intuit, and Microsoft.

The text of the Accord references recent events that have put online security at risk, and sets forth four principles:

  1. Protect all of our users and customers everywhere. The companies commit to protect their users and customers from cyberattacks, and to design, develop and deliver products and services that prioritize security, privacy, integrity, and reliability.
  2. Oppose cyberattacks on innocent citizens and enterprises from anywhere. The companies commit to protecting against tampering with or exploitation of their products and services.  They further commit not to help governments launch cyberattacks against innocent citizens or enterprises.
  3. Help empower users, customers and developers to strengthen cybersecurity protection. The companies commit to provide their users, customers, and developers with information and tools to understand and protect against cybersecurity threats, and to support civil society, governments, and international organizations to advance cybersecurity globally.
  4. Partner with each other and with likeminded groups to enhance cybersecurity. The companies commit to work with each other and establish formal and informal partnerships with other industry and civil society groups to improve technical collaboration, vulnerability disclosure, and threat sharing.

The first meeting of the Accord companies will occur during the RSA Conference in San Francisco, and will “focus on capacity building and collective action.”  The companies will report publicly on their progress toward achieving the goals of the Accord.  The Accord is also open to additional signatories, and Microsoft President Brad Smith noted that the company is confident that additional companies will sign on.