On August 1, Representatives Lee Terry (R- Neb.) and Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.) announced the creation of a bipartisan Privacy Working Group in the U.S. House of Representatives that will seek to “examine online privacy concerns and issues…with a balanced approach that recognizes the need to protect personal information online in a manner that preserves growth and innovation.”  The Commerce, Manufacturing, and Trade Subcommittee issued a press release announcing the creation of the Working Group.  The co-chairs of the Working Group will be Representatives Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.) and Peter Welch (D-Vt.).  They will be joined by Representatives Joe Barton (R-Tex.), Pete Olson (R.-Tex.), Mike Pompeo (R.-Kan.), Schakowsky, Bobby Rush (D.-Ill.), and Jerry McNerney (D.-Cal.).  Several members of the Working Group have been active in discussions of online privacy in recent years, including Representative Barton, who co-sponsored the Do Not Track Kids Act of 2011 with then-Rep. Ed Markey (D-Mass.).