Earlier today, Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI) was selected by his colleagues to continue to serve as Chairman of the U.S. House Committee on Energy and Commerce, the key House committee with jurisdiction over the Federal Trade Commission and the Federal Communications Commission.  In addition, Rep. Upton announced that Rep. Lee Terry (R-NE) will take over the chairmanship of the Commerce, Manufacturing, and Trade Subcommittee, which is a key subcommittee for privacy, data security, and consumer protection.  Rep. Mary Bono Mack (R-CA), who presently serves in that role, was defeated in her reelection effort earlier this month.  

During this past session of Congress, Rep. Mack introduced data security legislation and held a number of hearings on privacy and data security topics, including hearings on consumer privacy expectations, children’s and teen privacy issues, and the impact and burden of EU privacy regulation.  Rep. Terry previously served as Vice Chair of the full Committee and has been an active member of the Communications and Technology Subcommittee.

The full leadership team for the 113th Congress is expected to include the following Republicans:

Full Committee

Chair: Fred Upton (R-MI)

Vice Chair: Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)

Chairman Emeritus: Joe Barton (R-TX)

Commerce, Manufacturing, and Trade

Chair: Lee Terry (R-NE)

Vice Chair: Leonard Lance (R-NJ)

Communications and Technology

Chair: Greg Walden (R-OR)

Vice Chair: Bob Latta (R-OH)

Energy and Power

Chair: Ed Whitfield (R-KY)

Vice Chair: Steve Scalise (R-LA)

Environment and the Economy

Chair: John Shimkus (R-IL)

Vice Chair: Phil Gingrey (R-GA)


Chair: Joe Pitts (R-PA)

Vice Chair: Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (R-TX)

Oversight and Investigations

Chair: Tim Murphy (R-PA)

Vice Chair: Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (R-TX)